Hi-Fi 4 Sale - Malaysia / Singapore Audio Forum & Marketplace | www.hifi4sale.net
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Search

Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

440Hz.my - expanding musical horizons
Subscribe to our Feed
addtomyyahoo4 Subscribe with BloglinesAdd to netvibes
Add to Google

Newbie Tube Amp

3 posters

Go down

Newbie Tube Amp Empty Newbie Tube Amp

Post by inflexible_lim Sat Jan 29, 2011 6:09 am

Hi, I am a newbie for hifi. I am currently having Cambridge Audio azur 550A and a pair of Mordaunt-Short Mezzo 2. I am thinking of getting a tube amp. My budget is less than 2k. Any recommendation?

inflexible_lim

Number of posts : 7
Registration date : 2011-01-26

Back to top Go down

Newbie Tube Amp Empty Re: Newbie Tube Amp

Post by fizi Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:55 am

Look 4 tube amp that suit ur MS speaker...lets here from other kaki's what they suggest that suit ur MS...afraid only after buy tube amp then u need to change the speaker... Very Happy
fizi
fizi
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 1294
Registration date : 2009-02-16

Character sheet
Source(s): Analog - Lenco/Sota/Thorens/Roksan TT/Akai Reel Player / Digital - Ladiva
Amplification: DIY
Speakers: Harbeth/JBL?LINN

Back to top Go down

Post by samn Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:46 am

If i were you, I would focus on system building around the 550A. I would consider adding 200W/ch 840W to make 550A as a PreAmp. If you do, you may want to upgrade your loudspeakers to Mezzo 8 coz Mezzo 2 can only handle up to 120W. You would be surprised with this new discovery. You didn't mention about your CDP, if it's old 16bit, consider adding DACMagic.

To me going to tube amp is like embarking another new journey. Before you start another journey, my suggestion is to focus on how to make your current system great to you. Very Happy
samn
samn
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Number of posts : 147